Living Below the Line – the shopping

Posted: April 27, 2014 in food, poverty
Tags: , , , ,

poverty_shopping

As I explained in my last post Live Below the Line is an innovative campaign which challenges thousands of individuals across the world to live on £1 a day for 5 days. I’m about to embark on that challenge tomorrow…

The shopping

Parsnips – 22p
Potatoes – 27p
Mushrooms – 23p
Leek – 44p
Carrots – 40p
Onions – 40p
Garlic – 20p
Stock cubes – 20p
Dried spaghetti (500g) – 20p
Tinned tomatoes – 24p
Yellow split peas (500g) – 53p
Lemons – 34p
Plain flour (200g) – 25p
Chillies – 10p
Cabbage – 45p
Ginger – 22p


TOTAL – £4.70

I can only say thank goodness for our fabulous Grainger Market, as you can buy small amounts cheaply, without the excess packaging of the supermarkets. I did give in and go to Tesco for some value spaghetti, and a box of stock cubes – they were too cheap to ignore, and I’m going to need every bit of help to get through this week.

Considering that I quite often spend over £5 just on one meal, eating for five days on a fiver is going to be rather different. I don’t expect to starve, but I know I’m going to be hungry, and often bored with a plain diet of root vegetables and lentils. Thankfully, the rules say that I can use small amounts of salt/pepper/spices if the price is accounted for, so I’ll be generous and award myself the 30p that’s left over for some cumin and smoked paprika. I have fresh parsley, oregano, mint and rosemary thriving in the kitchen garden, so those flat breads and potatoes are starting to look a bit more appetising 🙂

OK, I’m going now, to have my last cup of coffee for a week, and maybe a few beers. There will be no chocolate, no cheese, no fruit, no eggs, milk, meat or fish. But don’t feel sorry for me, just…

Sponsor me please! https://www.livebelowtheline.com/me/pauljwhite

And I’ll be back tomorrow with a report on the first day.

Comments

Leave a Reply

