Living Below the Line – 2014

Posted: April 24, 2014 in food, poverty
Tags: , , ,

content_page_sixth

Live Below the Line is an initiative of the Global Poverty Project,

an education and campaigning organisation whose mission is to increase the number and effectiveness of people taking action against extreme poverty. Live Below the Line is our innovative campaign which challenges thousands of individuals across the world to live on £1 a day for 5 days, to deepen understanding of the challenges faced by individuals living in extreme poverty, and to raise vital funds for crucial anti-poverty initiatives.

The Rules

Are transport and other costs included in my budget?

No. Your £1 is only for your food and drink. You can drink tap water for free in your budget

Can I accept food ‘donated’ from family, friends or colleagues at a meeting or event?

You cannot accept food donated to you for free – we encourage you to ask for a donation instead!

Can I grow my own food?

Yes, of course you can! However you must account for any production costs.

Can I use things already in my cupboard?

You may use items you already have, however you must factor the full price of these items into your budget. For items such as salt, pepper, herbs and spices you can simply work out the cost of each item per gram and budget your shopping proportionally. However with items such as pasta, rice, eggs etc., the full cost of the packet must be included in your budget.

The Challenge

Anyone who knows me, knows that I like my food – you’ve no doubt groaned at yet another photo of tonight’s supper or a tasty lunch in the garden – and then there’s craft beer, oh, and good coffee, artisan chocolate, French cheese…

Well next week there will be none of that! It’s not so easy to find manioc and millet, the staples of many poor Africans, so it’s likely to be a diet of lentils and root vegetables – certainly no meat or fish, unless I can catch them myself!

I hope to do a daily blog, including some recipes, to keep you all informed. I’m never going to swim the Channel, or run from Lands End to John O’Groats, so this is probably the most challenging thing I’ll do for charity. So…

Sponsor me please! https://www.livebelowtheline.com/me/pauljwhite

Comments

Leave a Reply

