Living Below the Line – Day 2

Posted: May 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

Pasta-and-herbs

Pasta and garden herbs – tonight’s evening meal.

 

Well now, day one went fine. I made a big pot of red lentil dahl, and as I love lentils and they’re protein packed, I had dahl for lunch and dahl with flatbread for supper – all washed down with plenty of tap water.

Today started with a little left over dahl diluted with hot water to make a very meagre ‘cup a soup’ – no tea or coffee for me this week. The cravings for coffee and chocolate started a bit later, but I had one of my peaches as a sweet (and healthy) treat. Lunch was stir fried greens with chilli and lemon, and at under 30p was both tasty and well inside the budget.

Tonight, I feel like sh*te. I can only guess it is the withdrawal symptoms from simultaneously stopping caffeine, alcohol, chocolate etc. Either that, or I’ve got a brain tumour! Drinking plenty of water and I’ve just had another cheap and tasty supper, but I reckon it will be bedtime for me soon, and hope to sleep it off…

 

BTW Morrisons value pasta, at 20p/kg, is perfectly fine by the time you load it up with chilli and garlic! Here’s the recipe:

Boil a good handful of pasta, just short of al dente.
Stir fry (in whatever oil/margarine/etc you have handy) the following:

quarter of an onion
half a chilli
half a clove of garlic
half a carrot
some chopped cabbage

Grab some herbs from the garden – it doesn’t matter what (oregano, basil, parsley, thyme etc) but you need a big handful for the flavour – and roughly chop them with a little lemon zest. (Save the lemon itself for the dahl you will inevitably make later…)

Add the herbs and drained pasta to your veg, along with a little of the cooking water if it is a bit dry. Dig in, it’s healthy and not at all bad 🙂

=============================================

Find out more – why am I doing this, for goodness sake?

http://www.livebelowtheline.org.uk/

Please sponsor me – we can make a difference to global poverty:

http://my.livebelowtheline.co.uk/pauljwhite

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    Like the creative cooking! Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

